Terms to Know! Again.

While watching the news or skimming through political blogs, I’m still coming across words that leave me scratching my head. Although a lot of the time I have a vague understanding of political terms, I thought I (and maybe others like me) could benefit from actually defining these words.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: I am very green when it comes to politics!

 

Caucus:  A closed meeting of a group of persons belonging to the same political party or faction usually to select candidates or to decide on policy; also : a group of people united to promote an agreed-upon cause (www.merriam-webster.com).

Winner-Take-All Contests: All of a state’s delegates are required to vote for the same candidate. An example of a winner-take-all contest is the Florida primary.

Political Beauty Contest: A primary in which there are no delegates at stake. An example of a political beauty contest is the Missouri primary that was held on February 7.

Earmarks: A provision in Congressional legislation that allocates a specified amount of money for a specific project, program, or organization (www.merriam-webster.com).

Leave a Reply

